Feb. 07, 2023

HARRISBURG – Rep. Joe Adams (R – Pike/Wayne) announced that grants totaling more than $330,000 will be awarded to 27 fire company and EMS departments in the 139th District. The grants are made possible through the Fire Company and Emergency Medical Service Grant Program (FCEMSGP).

“These grants are well-deserved and will help our brave first responders with their critically important and dangerous jobs,” Adams said. “I congratulate each of them on receiving these funds, as every dollar helps our first responders continue to do the important work of helping all of us in our time of need.”

Those receiving grants include:

Pike County

• Blooming Grove Township Volunteer Fire Department No. 1 - $11,861.25.
• Central Volunteer Fire Department - $14,808.81.
• Dingman Township Volunteer Fire Department Inc. (EMS) - $10,000.
• Dingman Township Volunteer Fire Department Inc. (Fire) - $14,563.18.
• Forest Volunteer Fire Department - $15,000.
• Greeley Volunteer Fire Department Inc. - $12,106.88.
• Hemlock Farms Volunteer Fire & Rescue Company (EMS) - $10,000.
• Hemlock Farms Volunteer Fire & Rescue Company (Fire) - $12,352.51.
• Lackawaxen Township Volunteer Ambulance Service (EMS) - $10,000.
• Lackawaxen Township Volunteer Fire Department (Fire) - $12,106.88.
• Matamoras Fire Department Inc. - $12,352.51.
• Milford Volunteer Fire Company (Fire) - $14,914.
• Milford Volunteer Fire Company (EMS) - $9,755.
• Promised Land Volunteer Fire & Ambulance (EMS) - $8,403.
• Promised Land Volunteer Fire & Ambulance (Fire) - $12,352.51.
• Shohola Township Volunteer Fire & Rescue Inc. - $12,843.77.
• Tafton Fire Company Inc. - $12,352.51.
• Westfall Township Volunteer Fire Department (EMS) - $10,000.
• Westfall Township Volunteer Fire Department (Fire) - $15,000.

Wayne County

• Gouldsboro Ambulance Squad Inc. - $10,000.
• Gouldsboro Volunteer Fire Company - $15,000.
• Greene Dreher Volunteer Fire Association - $12,106.88.
• Hamlin Fire & Rescue Company (EMS) - $10,000.
• Hamlin Fire & Rescue Company (Fire) - $13,335.03.
• Lake Ariel Fire Company - $13,826.29.
• Lakeville Volunteer Fire Company Inc. - $13,580.66.
• Maplewood Fire and Rescue Company - $15,000.

In order to receive the funds, all recipients must file grant agreements with the Office of the State Fire Commissioner (OSFC).

FCEMSGP is administered by OSFC and makes an annual grant program available for volunteer and career fire companies, emergency medical services and rescue squads. Eligible projects include facility upgrades, equipment, debt reduction, training and certification, education and public outreach, and recruitment and retention efforts. Additionally, fire companies were permitted to apply for construction savings accounts for the purposes of new facility construction.

A complete list of grant awardees, as well as additional program eligibility requirements and important dates and information associated with future FCEMSGP funding rounds may be found online at osfc.pa.gov.

Residents are encouraged to visit Adams’ website, repjoeadams.com, and Facebook page at Facebook.com/RepJoeAdams. There, information can be found on the latest legislative developments in Harrisburg, state programs and the latest happenings in the 139th District.

The 139th Legislative District is comprised of parts of Pike and Wayne counties, consisting of the townships of Blooming Grove, Dingman, Greene, Lackawaxen, Milford, Palmyra (Pike), Shohola, Westfall, Cherry Ridge, Dreher, Lake, Lehigh, Paupack, Palmyra (Wayne), Salem, South Canaan and Sterling, and the boroughs of Matamoras, Milford and Hawley.

Representative Joe Adams
139th Legislative District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Melissa Fox
RepJoeAdams.com / Facebook.com/RepJoeAdams